Social Media · Toronto

Too Much Of Something Is Bad Enough?

I LOVE social media. I love the way that it allows you to interact with people and how it gives you the opportunity for  your otherwise sheltered voice to be heard. We all know the feeling of the first Tweet of the day, it is like a shot of heroin. Some would say that Twitter is the new coffee (although I am more of a tea girl myself).  

Although I do not have a fulltime job in pr, I have been given many freelance opportunities that probably would have not come my way if Twitter, LinkedIn and blogging did not exist. Social media has become one of the fastest growing trends in the way people promote themselves and their brands. Whether you are an indie band or a pr chick like myself, it is reassuring to know that you have social media on your side and that you are getting your name out there.  

Like all things, there are of course pitfalls to this system. Applications such as Foursquare are taking things to the next level. With the press of a button, you can broadcast to all of the Twitterverse not only where you are, but the address as well. I have a feeling that this application was created by someone who knew the ins and outs of creeping on Facebook and is now making on killing turning every stalkers dream into reality. I am not opposed to people who use Foursquare or other applications like it, I am just leery about it for myself. I am not vain enough to think that if  I posted my location on Twitter, that people would come rushing to see me. Let’s be honest though, there are some creepshows in this world and I wouldn’t want the risk of letting someone into my life who could do any of the following things:  

  • Stalk me
  • Steal from me
  • Kill me
  • Make a sex tape of me (unless you can GUARANTEE  that I will be more famous than Paris Hilton and the one with the big ass)

    

There is also the issue of too much information being shared on sites such as Twitter and Facebook. It is becoming such a common thing for employers to look into people’s personal lives when making the decision on who to hire and who to fire. This is the thing that I have the biggest issue with when it comes to social media. If you want to know my abilities as an employee, read my resume, interview me, listen to my recommendations or give me a trial run. I think it is silly that I may be judged on the fact that in my spare time I like to drink and cuss like a sailor. Unfortunately, as silly as it is to me, the reality of the matter is that this is what is happening and we have to be aware of it. Personally, I max out the privacy settings on my Facebook account, and somewhat sensor myself on Twitter. Thankfully the sector I am aiming to get into (arts & entertainment) is more lenient on what their employees say outside of their job. Case in point, MuchMTV social media darling Cassie  Stewart (@casiestewart). The girl is never censored, always entertaining and Much would have it no other way.  

 AH! Somebody gonna get fired!!!!!! Two Teachers One Chair. http://bit.ly/clQ2K5 about 1 hour ago reply   

Miss Casie Stewart

Unfortunately, not everyone has this luxury. I think sometimes people would be smart to put limitations on the ways in which they use social media. Just because you can, doesn’t always mean that you should.

Leave a Reply

