Film · Life

If You Love A Soul More Than Flame And Gold

Finally got around to watching Blue Valentine last night. This movie was on my top ten list when I was working at TIFF last summer (we got 10 free double passes to 10 movies of our choosing). Unfortunately, I worked crazy-busy hours and never got to see a single flick. I was browsing HMV last night after work and came across it and on impulse decided to just buy it rather then renting (I may or may not have also purchased 5 other movies – I have a problem). People were definitely not lying when they said it was depressing. Shit. Don’t get me wrong, it was a beautifully made film (the acting was top-notch) but I highly suggest that if you are even remotely jaded or scared by the idea of long-term relationships (as I am) STAY AWAY. If you are like me, and have a sick need to surround yourself with people and things that make you crazy, then you will probably hang on to every word that is spoken and really love this film. 
 
 
I remember last summer when Derek Cianfrance (the director) came into the TIFF Lounge and spoke about the film. He called the film incredibly realistic and I think that is what scares me the most. Relationships are not Romantic Comedies, they are “I need to pop a Zoloft” Blue Valentine’s. Right now, you are probably thinking that I have gotten a raw deal more than once when it comes to relationships, but strangely enough that isn’t the case. Yeah, I have had breakups and have been with people that make you feel as incredibly low as you do high. I have been in messed up situations that end exactly how you think they will but choose to ignore. But I have never been crushed. When I say crushed, I mean convinced that I have lost the love of my life and I can barely get out of bed. I have never experienced absolute soul-breaking at the hand of someone else – but I have seen it. I have seen it so many times with people that are close to me that I shield myself from the get-go. I couldn’t let go of sarcasm if you offered me a million dollars – it would be like walking around naked. Every time I start to think that I should let go, I am going to watch Blue Valentine and remind myself why I should not.
 
Joking.
 
Kind of.
 
 
Title: You and Me – By: Penny and the Quarters
Leave a Reply

