Life · Toronto

You Say You Want Me But You Never Came To Get Me

I am truly saddened by the news that Jack Layton died today. Although I may not have believed in all of the things that his party stood for, I believed in him. Layton was one of the few politicians who actually grabbed my attention and made me want to listen to what he had to say. I remember very few times that he would be on television and I didn’t have a smirk on my face just because he exuded such a positive energy. Layton was the definition of courage and it is heartbreaking to see him lose a battle that he should never have had to fight.

When someone passes, it always makes me re-evaluate my life and the choices I make. Life is so short and I don’t know about you, but I spend far too much of it hiding from what I want or convincing myself that I don’t want it. We aren’t put on the earth to fear life. We are put here to enjoy it to the fullest and to be left with no regrets when it comes our time to leave it.

Lately, I have really been trying to find joy in the small things, appreciate every last stitch of good in my life and understand that there is something to be learned from the bad. I really do believe in the saying that when God closes a door he opens a window (or however that goes). I believe in it because it has happened in my life. Unfortunately, I get so caught up in what I don’t have or trying to find answers for why I don’t have them, that I forget about all the “opened windows” that I am living in right now. Honestly, if one of the worse things in my life right now is that I am alone, and alone because of my own stupidity of running head first towards any guy holding a red flag, due to my obvious commitment issues. (And for the record, I am talking red flag as in obvious issues – not as in gang colours…I am not that bad….yet….). Anyways, if that (and of course the tiny mountain of school debt I have gathered) are realistically two things that bother me, then I have to give my head a shake and realize that those things will work themselves out when they are supposed to. Also, if I were to let go of my impatient nature, they would be two things that sat on the back burner of my mind. I am healthy. My family is healthy. My friends are healthy – and I have a good relationship with all three (this alone time I am experiencing is really letting me build a better relationship with myself…see, another door – window thing).

It’s true that while things could be worse, they could be better, but only I have the resources to make the better happen. Life is just too short. If there’s something you want to do – do it. If there is something you want to say – say it and if there is someone you want to be with – be with them. I can tell you that pride will only get you to the place you never wanted to be and anger and negativity will only keep you stuck in the one spot you want out of. But let’s be clear, when I say go for the things you want, I am only referring to the things that will not land you in jail – this is no time to pull a Lindsay Lohan.

“My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world”

– Jack Layton

Title: Long Walk To Never – By: Jaymay

Leave a Reply

