Friends · Life · Writing

Diary of the Unemployed: Day 9

I am sitting in my underwear, watching some movie on Netflix called The Brass Teapot, while drinking a ridiculously overpriced Pumpkin Spiced Latte from Starbucks (having a Starbucks at the corner of your street is not good for the ol’ bank account).

That’s where I’m at these days.

I did go for a jog earlier in the afternoon, so that is something I suppose.

At least I have other unemployed friends – 3 to be exact. Two are from where I used to work and the other is just biding her time until she gets something after finishing her Masters. It’s nice to have people in your life who totally get how you are feeling as each mundane day passes by. In fact, I just received this text from my friend Jenna:

“It’s not often that I finish an entire bottle of wine before 9pm on a Tuesday. Haha. Oh boy”

I love her. Whatever. That is just a day in the life of the unemployed. On a positive note, my nails seem to be growing at a rapid rate and they look fantastic (I knew narrowly OD’ing on vitamins everyday was a good idea). On another positive, I am having dinner made for me this weekend. I am not talking frozen chicken fingers and fries like my high school boyfriend made me one time in an attempt to make trying to deflower me seem romantic. I am talking 4 course meal. I love having people in my life that love and know how to cook. Want to hear what is on the menu? Be prepared for drooling and jealousy.

Appetizer: Lobster dip with flat bread
Starter:
 Seared scallops on roasted garlic potato puree with chives and balsamic reduction
Main: Grilled beef tenderloin with red wine reduction and sauteed green beans
Dessert: Chocolate Strawberries and cava

Yeah, you can wipe the drool off your chin now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

